Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Playing Hooky

Thursday, Sept. 29, 2005
I decided to play hooky today. This is one of the perks of having a job where I didn�t have to jump through hoops and get doctors notes to call in sick. I just called and that was it. I�ve been having some trouble sleeping lately and that�s part of the reason why I just couldn�t go to work. I found myself wide awake at 4 in the morning with no chance of going to sleep which I didn�t unit about six when I knew I had to be up in an 40 minutes so I just told myself to go back to sleep and when the alarm when off I made my final decision to force myself to stay up long enough to call in and then go back to sleep which is what I did.

It was my intention to try to stay away from personal or negative things in my journals because I felt like that�s all I do but in this case I�m going to make an exception. JAB and I decided to sell our house. We found a house that we liked a lot. It was newer so we didn�t have to deal with having to fix things every weekend. It had 2.5 bath�s which is what I wanted and it had two master suites so JAB wouldn�t feel so squashed in his room since it seems to always be our room that we sleep in. Anyway the house was in foreclosure and had been on the market for about 4 months. We put our house on the market with plans to put an offer in for the other house yesterday. Well yesterday we got a call that the house we wanted and 18 other�s had been taken off the market to be given to the Katrina victims. We are both a little crushed and I have to admit that I�m a little angry.

In my present job all I�ve done for the past month is deal with Katrina victims. They took me off my current caseload just to deal with the evacuees who have come to the Atlanta area. At first I was excited to help them. I wanted to do my part. Admittedly I�m a little burned out because I�ve noticed that now some people think that if they utter the word that they are from Louisiana we should all open up our check books. I know right now I�m pretty bitter so I�m going to leave it alone.

Now of course JAB and I are forced with a dilemma. Do we keep our house on the market or do we take it off and just live in this house. Of course JAB believes that we should take our house off the market and just add a bathroom and another room. JAB is an idealist. He thinks anything can be done but when I brought to his attention that most of the repairs we�ve done in the past month was due to the house going on the market. If the house wasn�t going on the market we wouldn�t have done any of it. In the past 5 years so many things had to be done to this house but never was and he thinks that all of the sudden we�ll do things. I hate when we argue but also hate when JAB won�t bend a little and admit that we�re not fixer up people. We get into a project and then get wrapped up in work or other things and then they never get completed.

The main problem is that to stay in the area we�re in right now we may be able to find something newer or renovated but it�s going to be A LOT smaller than our house is and will cost a lot more. We�ve pretty much been priced out of this neighborhood and instead of trying to understand JAB feels that we should maybe wait a year and then our house will go up in value but the other houses will not? What sense does that make. Ok I�m tired of talking about it now. I have to email the realtor and let him know what we�ve decided. I don�t know myself.

10:51 a.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie