Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Career decisions

Sunday, Sept. 25, 2005
Making decisions have never been my strong suite. JAB and I were at Mary�s. Going twice in a week is very unusual for us. We�re an old married couple, but we went� out last night. I�m not really in the mood to get into the details too much but to make a long story short, I met a guy who works for the another airline here in Atlanta. Actually I�d met him before a long time ago when I was still at Delta; he remembered me and asked me how things were going at Delta since the bankruptcy announcement. I told him that I wasn�t there anymore, yada, yada, yada. He asked me why I left and I got into yada, yada, yada. Well he ended up asking me if I would be interested in being in the training department or supervision with this airline. He said that he knew that this airline was growing and in about 2 weeks the job announcements were going out. He said that this airline, unlike Delta, hired people from the outside to be supervisors and instructors. I don�t want to say that he told me that he could pull some strings for me but that�s what he pretty much did. He said that he knew of three Delta instructors who were going to apply and that they�re chances looked good. He told me to email him my resume if I was interested.

The thing is, I don�t know if I�m interested. I know that working for this airline would afford me a huge raise and I admit right now that I am broke and struggling to survive on this entry level income that I have right now but part of me wants nothing to do with the airline industry anymore. But again I�ve been in it so long I feel like that�s all I know. All I really know. I seem to continue to get into jobs that don�t have a lot of room for advancement. JAB is leery afraid that I�ll get back into flying. I don�t want to be a flight attendant anymore. I can say that without hesitation. If I were still at Delta I would have started my 15th year the date they announced their bankruptcy. I know money isn�t everything but right now it�s a lot. But I admit that I�ve gotten used to having weekends off and holidays off. I like wearing normal clothes. I know that if I got hired by this airline I would have to weekends again and probably a lot of nights and holidays. I don�t know if I�m ready for that. But I know that I can�t afford to stay at my present job even though I enjoy it and I�m making a lot of lateral moves. I guess it wouldn�t hurt to at least apply. Right?

9:20 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie