Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Five Things that are on my mind

Sunday, May. 01, 2005
I�m not really sure how 14 days have gone by without an update. Well a part of that is because I�m still not sure if I�m going to keep up with diaryland. I know I will keep up a journal or whatever you want to call this but with the problems that diaryland has been having it might be a good to do shake things up by going to a new place. I�ve said it before but honestly diaryland is comfortable so I�ll probably go and rewew my gold membership again.

I have a lot of things going on in my head that I want to share but it�s in such a magled heap that I don�t really know where to start.

1. Ok last weekend Jab and I went to Pensacola for the weekend. We left on Saturday and came back on Monday. I�m really a type who doesn�t like to be away from home too long but I could have stayed one more day. Jab really got sunburned but that�s because he insisted on using suntan oil as opposed to using something with a spf rating. I used spf 45 and still got a little burned on my shoulder. We had a good time with our friends. We always do with our two friends from Tennessee. The condo where we stayed was like something on tv. I really wish I had the money to buy some sort of summer home, or vacation home.

2. Work is going well but I� definitely a little overwhelmed with work. I usually go in early and leave late. I don�t hate it or anything it�s just that I seem to not get caught up even though I�m going in early and leaving late.

3. I have to admit that it was so funny to me when Nancy Grace and Greta Van Susteren pretty much tried and convicted Jennifer Wilbank�s fianc� of killing her when really she didn�t have the guts to admit that she was having second thoughts on her upcoming marriage. Yesterday I picked up my parents from the airport and there were all these tv trucks outside. I was hoping that there would be police cars outside too. I don�t believe that she should be in jail but I hope that Duluth forces her to pay back the money that they spent and I hope that Nancy and Greta stop convicting people when they have no idea what�s going on. Oh and of course Ms. Wilbanks had to say that it was a minority who kidnapped her. That�s creative.

4. Speaking of race I read this with some relief and sadness. Relief because finally this practice is being talked about and not just in the south but in the Gay mecca of San Francisco. I first heard of this from my one of my new favorite blogs it quotes a story from And Castro For All which is a fiscally sponsored project of the San Francisco LGBT Community Center dedicated to fostering a genuinely welcoming Castro neighborhood and broader Bay Area LGBT community by helping to build relationships, and foster dialogue and understanding, across and within LGBT sub-communities, as well as by challenging beliefs and practices undermine inclusion within our community. This group had a press conference about the discriminatory practices of a San Francisco bar owner who owns two popular Gay bars SFBadlands and Detours. According to findings by the San Francisco HRC, �Les Natali, owner of one the city�s most popular gay bars, has violated numerous civil rights ordinances in his discriminatory practices in employment and patronage against people of color.� And Castro For all stated that 1) that Les Natali, the owner of SFBadlands and Detour bars, had been encouraging his staff to implement discriminatory and illegal practices in an effort to bar African Americans and others; 2) that, on multiple occasions, African American patrons, Latinos, women, and other individuals had been subjected to differential, unjust, and illegal treatment, ranging from discrimination at the door to expulsion without cause; and 3) that, given the composition of his 100% male and overwhelmingly White, 40-plus person workforce, it was highly likely that he was engaged in discriminatory hiring practices. At least a �non-minority� group is talking about this but the sad part is that this is still going on an most people in the Gay community could really care less.

5. I�m really looking for a pair of nice Black dress boots to wear to work. I don�t want to pay more than $75.


10:47 p.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie