Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Day two of training

Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Day one of my training has started and I must admit that I�m bored. Not really with the information even though a lot of I already know from working at my job a month but I�m really bored with the other participants. Now I know myself and I know that I am not an optimist but I read people pretty well.

The majority of other students are from small counties around Georgia. In small I mean counties where there is only maybe one city/town in it. That small. The main thing that troubled me was the �get to know each other� section which I always hate. I will probably never see these people again and to me if people want to know my name then ask me. If they want to know where I�m from then ask me. But I played along. We had to say our name, what county we were from, how long we have been working for our county organization and finally we were asked what we would bring with us if we knew we were going to be stuck on a deserted island.

I have to say that the question is so tiring now. First no one plans on being stuck on an island but I�ll leave that alone. The first two women said in their best southern Georgia accent, �my bible�. Out of all the participants only 3 people didn�t say their bible. I said my lap top which got a lot of strange looks. I said I would use it as long as the battery lived and then hopefully I could pick up so wi-fi somewhere. I got the impression that most of the participants didn�t know what Wi-Fi was. Anyway, let me say that I have no problem with the Bible. I am not anti-Bible or religion for that matter. But the answer was just so, I don�t know, Southern. So Bible belt. I was happy when one woman said that the she didn�t need the Bible because God would always look after her. She said she would bring a CD player because she enjoyed music.

Sometimes I feel like I�m a snob. I don�t want to be. I truly love all types of people. I don�t care where you live or what you do but the whole Bible thing made me think that these people were probably a little closed minded. I think back to a hymn we would sing in Catholic school. �They will know we are Christians by our love.� Not by the Bible you bring to the deserted island. I�m not sure why this is bugging me so much. It�s like all of the Bush bumper stickers I�ve seen around here. This is a college town, a small college town but still, shouldn�t this be the bastion of liberalism? I have not seen one Kerry sticker. Not one. It�s unusual for me. I do live in the South but as I�ve been told before, Atlanta, at least Atlanta proper, is not really the South.

One of the participants I think is Gay. Don�t know why, I actually have awful Gaydar so I�m probably wrong. He�s staying at the same hotel that I am. I may try to speak to him tomorrow. I also liked the woman who I�m sitting next to.

I feel like I�m being very negative and I hate that. I guess I was hoping that my one business trip outside of my airline work would take me somewhere I could enjoy. Here it seems like the biggest hot spot is Applebee�s. I swear I�m not a snob. I�ve just done the small town thing. I haven�t lived in a true small town since I went to college. Even my small town growing up had a little bit of culture. Do I sound like a snob? I�m not I�m going to try to be open and embrace this new experience. I want to be that kind of person but I�m just BORED out of my mind.
I was watching CNN today and it made me sad to hear that Terri Shiavo was near the end. I�m so confused. Some say that she�s completely brain dead. There�s nothing there but then they have to give her small doses of morphine? If she�s brain dead and has no idea what�s going on then why the morphine. I�m so on the fence with this issue. I need to make a living will ASAP.


8:57 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie