Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

I need to vent

Tuesday, Mar. 08, 2005
I�m feeling strange about some things. Mostly the whole Gay issue at work. Now I realize that I�m obsessing over this new job the way I obsess about so many other things but bare with me please.

Ok I work for social services. I�m doing training now which the state considers OJT. Then I have to go to training for a week which is a refresher course and then take the test which will make me state certified. On my floor there are many departments, social security, food stamps, medicare, subsidized child care, etc, etc. There�s also an area that�s called general assistance. They help if you are being evicted from your home and you�re having hard times.

This guy came up. He had Rainbow hair. He was very Gay. Now I guess even me saying that makes me, I don�t know what it makes me but anyway, he was very flamboyant. He was in there to get general assistance because he was being kicked out of his apartment. Since I�m training I sat in on the meeting between the guy and the case worker who will decide if he can qualify for the assistance. The worker was extremely nice to him but unfortunately he didn�t qualify for assistance. She explained so many ways to me that he didn�t qualify and he finally asked if it was because he was Gay and he had a partner that he listed on his application. The case worker said no and I believe her. She said that they didn�t me the eligibility requirement. Well he went off on how Black people should understand the plight of Gay people since we�ve all been persecuted and because his partner is in fact a Black man. He went on and on and on. It was embarrassing. Once he finally left. Everyone who heard him, (which was half the floor) made fun of him.

They didn�t make homophonic comments per se but they definitely made fun of his gestures and his storming out. One woman asked me if he played with the other side. I didn�t know what to say because I play for the other side.

Should I have defended him and said, hey I�m Gay too? I just didn�t say anything. I was told that one woman in the office has a crush on me. I just laughed at the statement. I don�t know what to do. It�s not really a big deal but it�s on my mind right now. Sometimes I don�t want to be Gay anymore. It�s too hard. I�m like a triple minority. It�s hard enough to deal with being Black and being a male. It�s hard for me when I go into elevators and women grab their purses or look nervous. It�s hard from me when I�m asked why I speak the way I speak. But adding Gay to it sometimes seems a little bit too much to bear at times.

Ok I know I�m whining. I�ll try to do better tomorrow.

8:52 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie