Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Weekend's Over

Sunday, Mar. 06, 2005
This weekend is over. I�m not as sad about as I probably should be. It�s nice to have a new job and not dread it as much. Yes I would love to have one more day off but I ok.

This weekend has been very strange. My Dad went into the hospital Friday. He�s been having these chest pains for about 3-4 months. So Friday he went to the emergency room and they decided to keep him. He was suppose to be home Saturday but the doctors want to do the test to see if he has any blockage in his arteries. So they are doing that tomorrow. I�m trying not to be freaked out about it. The doctor is just making sure that there�s nothing wrong with his heart. I�m not going to freak out; I�m not going to freak out. Tomorrow he will be home and a pain in my but again. But if you are the praying type please pray. If not just send out some good wishes my and his way.

I found another flight attendant blog site. I was very interested in his story because he quit flying in December because he was tired of being away from home and because he worked for a charter that does most of the military charters during the war. He said that he was making a statement because he didn�t want to be part of the war at all. Well in January he decided to fly again for another airline. I don�t know why it scared me. Yes I�m using the word scared. People in my professional laugh about the golden handcuffs how the lifestyle is too good or too addictive to give up. There�s also the fact that the longer you stay in the professional the more skills that gets sucked out. Which is why I have to take a job paying what I started out making 15 years ago.

I know that if I had worked harder at my airline I could have made a lot more money. Of course I would have had to work most weekends and do three day trips. I would have been away from JAB a lot but I would have more money. I need money. I have expensive taste in things but I couldn�t do it anymore. I feel like I have to justify why I�m leaving. I don�t know why. No one is really questioning me. JAB is thrilled to death. My parents have said that I seem happier. I�ve started cutting off my airline friends but in some ways I feel like the odd ball. I�m the one person who hated being a flight attendant and left. And there�s a part of my parents and JAB that think that I�ll go back. That�s why they continue to ask me if I�m happy and how I�m dealing with working nine to five and only have two days off a week. They say it so much that I�m starting to question if I can do this can I really leave. Why can�t I just quit all together. I say that it�s so I can keep my travel benefits but am I going to end up like the guy who quit and two months later decides it�s better to go work for the airline again. Even the woman who was fired from Delta because of her blog still wants to go back and fly for them. I don�t get it. Why am I the only one who didn�t love it. What�s wrong with me?

Yes I am crazy. I admit it and that�s why I have like seven people reading this. But I�m ok with it. I need to go to bed. I�m trying to read every night before I go to sleep. I decided to reread Zora Neale Hurston�s Their Eyes Were Watching God. I haven�t read it since college and all the hoopla from the Oprah movie made me interested again. I love reading and I wish that I could find more Gay novels out there that peaks my interest but they all seem to be written for the 22 year old and that�s not me.

10:17 p.m. :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie