Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Can't think of anything good to go here.

Monday, Jan. 24, 2005
I was going to write about something else but I just wasn�t in the mood. That�s been my mantra all weekend. I haven�t been in the mood to do much at all. My cousin called and I couldn�t answer the phone. Really I wasn�t in the mood for a two hour conversation which I know it�s always going to be. I can�t even muster the energy to do much of anything. I hate when I get this way. I really do.

I didn�t talk about this much but I had an interview for a job about ten days ago. I don�t really want to talk much about what I�d be doing because I don�t want to jinx. Yes I do kinda believe in that type of stuff. Anyway the interview went well and then of course things have to get funky. It seems as if they needed job references well I gave them my supervisors telephone number which probably wasn�t the best idea but since I haven�t been employed by anyone else in the past fifteen years I can�t really go back to a past employer. I found out that according to my company �Recommendation or character reference letters should not be prepared locally under any circumstances. Indiscriminate preparation of such letters can involve the company in lawsuits.� Which means in layman terms that I will never be able to receive any sort of recommendation from a place I�ve been for 15 damn years. Oh and then to add insult to injury if anyone an employer or a mortgage company or anyone want job or income verification guess what, they have to call a 900 number and pay ten dollars. When I realized this I call up human resources to ask them why this was. I know that they didn�t have an answer and probably shouldn�t but I was angry. They told me that it was a way to save my airline money. I explain to them that most places of business or hell most local homes have 900 blocks. She tells me that anyone can contact their local phone company to have the service turned off. Yes I�m so special that a company is going to do that for me.

So even though I think I was overly qualified for this job since it was basically entry level I haven�t heard anything back from them. They told me I was to start training February 1st which is about a week some I�m thinking that I�m pretty much off the consideration list. I�m very disappointed, pissed and scared.

My company is like the battering husband. They don�t want you there but they don�t want you to leave. I�m thinking now that I can�t even go to Target because they�re going to want to check my job references and guess what. I�m not allowed to do that. I�m trying so hard not to get discouraged or depressed but after working this weekend it hit me once again what my life could be like. I can�t get retirement from my company until I�m 52 years old which will be in another 16 years. I can�t stay here 16 years. I don�t want to stay here 16 years. I know this sounds awful but I wish in some ways I worked for USAir or for some airline that wasn�t looking good so people would have pity on me. My airline is doing ok not great of course. There are rumors of more pay cuts, but I just want a way out. I can�t imagine being forced to stay at a job for 16 years because I can�t get or do anything else. The thing that really pisses me off is that I would be willing to stay at my airline if I could get a job in another department. But my airline pretty much believes that �you were hired to do this you will stay doing this.� So 1980�s.

Again, I�m trying not to get discouraged but everyplace I turn seems to be a dead end I went to a temp/placement agency and she told me that my resume was good but that most temp/placement agencies deal with administrative assistant and executive assistants and my skills aren�t really in that area. I tried the career counselor three years ago and as you see I�m still here. I�m not so na�ve to thing that a change of jobs will change my life for the better but I can�t do this anymore. I can�t spend day after day telling people to turn off their laptops on landing or have to hear the endless complaining about the airlines. It�s driving me crazy. Literally.

8:17 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie