Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Visionary

Monday, Jan. 17, 2005
Once again I didn�t spend MLK day the way I wanted to. I spent it pretty much in bed. Friends came into town yesterday and we went to a new snazzy restaurant which had great atmosphere but a carafe of wine was $60 and split between 7 people we had a half a glass each. I had Lamb enchiladas which were actually pretty good. Then we went out to Mary�s where I had 3-4 Long Island Ice teas. Now the thing is that I expected to be drunk and I expected to be a little hung over. I pretty much know my limit but I spent all of last night throwing up. I thought for sure it was the alcohol but I�m thinking now that it was a combination of the alcohol and a stomach virus which I found out has been going around. I don�t get sick a lot but whenever it comes to stomach viruses I get them. I get them all the time. JAB isn�t feeling well right now but he hasn�t gone to the vomiting yet so hopefully he�ll be ok. He was very good with me last night even lying on the floor with me in the bathroom. I really appreciate that.

Anyone even though the day is almost over I just wanted to post a few quotes from MLK. MLK day is a big deal here in ATL but I�m never sure what it�s like in other places besides just a day off for some people. I hate that may people only see Martin Luther King JR. as a warrior for Black people. He was a warrior for all people.

These two quotes are very relevant for today which means that we haven�t learned a lot since his death or that he was truly a visionary.

(1)Like an unchecked cancer, hate corrodes the personality and eats away its vital unity. Hate destroys a man's sense of values and his objectivity. It causes him to describe the beautiful as ugly and the ugly as beautiful, and to confuse the true with the false and the false with the true.

(2)I am convinced that it is one of the most unjust wars that has ever been fought in the history of the world. Our involvement in the war in Vietnam has torn up the Geneva Accord. It has strengthened the military-industrial complex; it has strengthened the forces of reaction in our nation. It has put us against the self-determination of a vast majority of the Vietnamese people, and put us in the position of protecting a corrupt regime that is stacked against the poor.

It has played havoc with our domestic destinies. This day we are spending five hundred thousand dollars to kill every Vietcong soldier. Every time we kill one we spend about five hundred thousand dollars while we spend only fifty-three dollars a year for every person characterized as poverty-stricken in the so-called poverty program, which is not even a good skirmish against poverty.

Not only that, it has put us in a position of appearing to the world as an arrogant nation. And here we are ten thousand miles away from home fighting for the so-called freedom of the Vietnamese people when we have not even put our own house in order. And we force young black men and young white men to fight and kill in brutal solidarity. Yet when they come back home that can�t hardly live on the same block together.

Martin Luther King Jr.

10:40 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie