Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

In search of a music therapist

Thursday, Oct. 21, 2004
There is a friend that I correspond with in Brighton UK
. I used to hang out with Paul and his boyfriend Adrian when I used to layover there. He flew for British Midland and he had this strange obsession with Black American men so it was a great self esteem boost. Back in the early to mid nineties I was in Brighton pretty much twice a month sometimes four times a month depending on the trip. It was good to be able to ditch the crew and hang out with Paul and Adrian. They are great people and hopefully one day I�ll get to see them again. The one of the great things about England and why I used to see myself living in England is that I love the music. It�s all Pop. Yes I know I should be listening to something cool and rappish but truth be told I like Pop. It was great for me to be in Brighton in the mid to late 90�s and listen to Rick Astley and not be made fun of. I heard Jamiroquai for years before people in the US could even pronounce his name. Paul and I set up twice or so a year to IM chat. It�s like that because I don�t like really chatting so we always end up chatting for about 20 minutes then I get frustrated and call him for 20 minutes so not to raise my phone bill up. So I�m talking to Paul and like usually he�s blaring his music and I hear this song that he has on repeat on his cd player or whatever. It�s catchy so at the end of the conversation I ask him what the hell he�s playing. He says �It�s Emma�. I�m like, Emma who. He says �Emma Burton.� Still not ringing any bells at all. He says from the Spice Girls. Ok so know I�m sickened because I�ve erased all of the memories of me buying a spice girl cd out of my mind. He starts raving about the song and makes me, (ok as much as you make someone on the phone do something) makes me go to her website and watch her video Maybe . Which is very 60�s inspired with a lot of sexy men dancing which is such a turn on for me. I love a man who can dance. I really REALLY do. I guess that�s the Solid Gold in me which is another story in itself.

So know I�m stricken because I�ve watched the video about three times. I like it. Why do I like it? I�m sure there�s some sort of music counseling for this. Paul downloaded the song for me, which is probably against the law but I won�t tell anyone. Maybe it�s just a phase that will end soon but I may have to find this single to download from somewhere because I could never walk into a store and buy it. Shame on me, DB. Shame, Shame, Shame

6:08 p.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie