Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Seriously

Monday, Oct. 18, 2004
I know that I said last week that I really thought that Kerry was going to win. I don�t feel that way anymore. I had a discussion with an employee from work the other day that said that our vote here in Georgia doesn�t really count because the state is so republican. She said that there are a group of people who changed their residences to Ohio and or Florida just so they could vote where it would really have mattered. I wish that I could have done that. I know it�s probably illegal or something but I just feel like Kerry has no chance at all in this country. My friend Michelle said that at this point anyone who would still vote for Bush is an idiot, a racist, a bigot or all the above. I hate to make those types of blanket statements but I have to agree with her.

I hate politics. JAB and I have a close friend who is a republican. We got into a huge political debate a while ago. We were discussing affirmative actions. Now I can say that I have not directly benefited from affirmative actions. I got into school on my own merits and I don�t believe that there are really any jobs out there that still even consider race or anything when officially picking a candidate. But I realize that fact that affirmative action is still needed in the educational realm. I believe that by the grace of God and my parents of course I didn�t grow up in an inner city school where the books can be up to 20 years old. Where you don�t have the special SAT course given for free to all juniors and seniors like I had. Now I also understand that there are some qualified people who will not get into a college because they do not fall into the categories judged in affirmative actions. I don�t have an answer to that. But it�s always funny to me that when people get those extra points for being a legacy student or they play sports well. No one seems to mind. One of my best friends in college would tutor the football team. She said that there were so many students who couldn�t read past a 6th grade level. They couldn�t do basic math and subtraction. There�s no way that they got a descent score on their SAT�s but they were sitting at my college along side me. No one has a problem with that.

Ok I�m tired and I�m angry and I just may delete this because I�m rambling and probably not making a lot of sense. It just saddens me that Bush will probably be elected again. Oh well this video did make me laugh a little. It may not be work appropriate so keep that in mind.


9:31 p.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie