Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

5 minute talk

Friday, Mar. 05, 2004
I�m not really in the mood to write but I�m fulfilling the often mention goal that I made to myself to keep this updated. It�s not that I don�t have a lot to say because I do. I�m having problems finding away to get it out there. So here again is my 5 minute writing assignment.

1. I feel bad for Martha Stewart in some ways and in some ways I don�t. She did something wrong. Who can honestly say that she didn�t? What I hear is that if she wasn�t a woman then it wouldn�t be an issue. That could be a possibility but the real question is why. If it were Man who was accused of insider trading are supposed to believe that people who just turn their heads and say, �Oh, he was wrong but he�s a guy so it�s ok.� I don�t see that. As Paula Zahn said tonight, if you believe all the nasty things that have been said about Stewart and how she treats her underlings then this is about Karma. No matter how rich and powerful you are, you can�t treat people anyway you want to.

2. I hate Nancy Grace and I hate when she sits in for Larry King. She�s an arrogant woman and I hate the fact that she has never apologized for telling the wife of the man who was arrested for the Elizabeth Smart case that she needed to face the facts that her husband, who died in prison from an aneurism, probably kidnapped and killed Elizabeth Smart. Well you were wrong and you should have apologized on national tv for being such a bitch to that woman.

3. There�s a new show coming out called Noah�s Arc . It�s been called a cross between, Queer as Folk, Soul Food and Sex and the City. I�m very excited about this as I have always felt that the Black Gay community is invisible. But what saddens me is that there has to be this show. When they were casting for Queer as Folk did they ever think about adding a Black character or Hispanic or Asian or Native American? Is the Gay community so bigoted that they could not risk having a person of color on their show? The other question out there is whether White Gay men will watch this show. Will they show their support for a show that doesn�t have one member of the cast that looks like them? I�ve been regulated for many years to watching shows that are totally unrealistic. I lived in NYC for a summer and there were very, very few places in the city where you didn�t see a black person. So to watch Friends and Will and Grace and see no one of color it is a little disheartening. But to think about it. Is it realistic? Is it the way that White Gay people want it to be? Do they want a lily White world where people of color are regulated to the background or in drag?

Ok that�s it. I have nothing more to say.

10:11 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie