Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

I WANT SOMETHING FREE

Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
Yesterday JAB and decided to get something to eat. He got one of his big checks from his clients so we could splurge. I see now that starting soon we�re going to have to get back to saving. We are really one paycheck away from being on the street and I�m too old for that. I�m too ashamed to admit how much is in my savings account and how little I contribute to my 401k. I digress.

We decided to go to Cowtippers. It was such a nice day outside. It actually wasn�t 90 degrees with 100% humidity so we decided to sit outside. It started out nice. The waiter came and was real chipper. He told us the specials and we order a pitcher of Margaritas. I really like their margaritas but they have this annoying habit of putting way to much ice in it. I mean when there is liquid in the pitcher the ice should be all the way at the bottom. We had complained about it before and actually stopped going there for the inconsistent service but it had gotten better. Or so we thought. Well he comes with the pitcher and starts to pour it. There is tons of ice in the pitcher and tons of ice in the glass. I don�t see how he doesn�t notice this. He puts the drinks on the table and walks away. JAB and I look at each other and we realize that the pitcher has to be 70% ice. It�s just ridicules. JAB is pissed so I said that I would handle it. When the waiter comes back I try a new strategy I ask him if he can take some of the ice out. I explain to him that there�s way too much ice in the pitcher. He looks at me like I�m crazy. The problem is this. I don�t want people to think that I�m trying to get something for nothing. This irritates JAB and he�s right. I just hate taking back things. I don�t expect perfection. I was hoping that the waiter would do what I would have done in that situation I would have taken it back to the bartender and told him/her to fix the problem. Of course he brings the pitcher back with a little less ice but now you can tell that the pitcher is half empty or half full depending on your mood. JAB now is more pissed but I figure that it�s my fault for not just laying it out there to the waiter. The waiter asks if we�re ready to order and we order an appetizer. Chips and Queso. Usually that takes about 5 minutes, 10 tops. Well it took him 25 minutes. When he brought it was cold. So cold that the chip broke when we put a chip in it. Then we didn�t see him for about 10 minutes. Now I�m pissed. We wanted to talk to a manager but of course he�s no where to be seen. We�re upset because we�ve been so good about not eating out and now that we�re able to, it all goes to hell. I could tell that the waiter was busy and he seemed about spacey but it�s not an excuse. We were at the restaurant 45 minutes and he hadn�t taken out dinner order yet. So we decided to just leave. We got a to-go box and put the chips and the Queso in it. I don�t see how he wasn�t intuitive enough to figure out that something was wrong. My God you work on tips which he got very little from us. Of course now we are vowing never to go back there which is a shame. It�s a very gay friendly and when everything is working well the food, the drinks and the service is great. But when they go to hell then it�s all bad. I�m going to write a letter to the company who owns it and forward it to the restaurant manager. I just wonder if it will do any good. I know this sounds bad but I want something from them. I want something free. It�s because I work in an industry where I get bitched at because there�s a thunderstorm over the airport and if you bitch loud enough you usually get something free.

Prime example. 2 weeks ago I was working back from Las Vegas to Atlanta. About an hour out this man started complaining of chest pains and then he passed out in the galley. Now we are trained for this but it�s always a relief when someone else finds them so lucky for me it wasn�t my cabinet. We paged for a doctor and surprisingly there were about 3 on board. A husband and wife team showed up and hooked him up to the AED, Automated External Defibrillator which can restart your heart if need be but can also give vital signs. It was decided that we need to divert to Denver because the man was getting worse. I get on the P.A. and I explain the situation. I fully explain that a man was deathly ill, I used those words and that we need to land in Denver so he could get medical attention. We also had to stop cabin service so we could prepare the aircraft for landing. At this point half of the people had gotten food and drinks the other half hadn�t. But hey a man could be dying here so you�d think people would be understanding. Most of them were. As we were picking up a man asks how long we�d be in Denver I told him that I couldn�t see more than an half an hour because we were not going to have to refuel. He said that he was really concerned about his connection and asked if he could get off in Denver to see if there was some other way for him to get to his destination. I told him that I didn�t think it�d be possible but I�d check. We get to Denver. We end up going to another airline�s gate that would be easier for the paramedics to get the sick man off. We were on the ground for 18 minutes. We take off and we start the service again. People start asking if we�re going to give them free drinks since they were inconvienenced. I couldn�t believe it. A man had a heart attack and you feel that it�s an inconvenience. I told them no. Well people start getting really angry saying that my airline should provide something for them because we were going to be 40 minutes late. The flight attendant in charge authorized it and I was so angry. This woman asked me why I looked so mad. I wanted to tell her that she and her looser tank top wearing husband were the reason why I hate people and I hate my job. Her husband actually said to me that he was going to miss his flight and that he had a million dollar deal waiting for him in Florida. He wanted everyone�s name including the guy who had the heart attack so if need be he could fill suit against us. The other flight attendant asked him if he would fill suit against the man who had the heart attack and he said yes. I was so disgusted. When we got to ATL I saw him talking to an agent. I saw the agent the next day and asked her what happened. She said that she gave him bonus miles and upgraded him to first class on his next flight. I was and am pissed. So is it really so bad for me to want this restaurant to give me a coupon for a free meal or something. Hell I�d be happy with a response saying that they were sorry. I bet I�ll get nothing at all.

8:22 p.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie