Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

SHINGLES

Thursday, Sept. 04, 2003
This has been a pretty uneventful couple of days which I like. A LOT! The only bad thing is that I have shingles. I didn�t know what that was until Labor Day. Friday I woke up with this weird rash on my back. It was just a cluster of little bumps. I assumed that I was bitten by something. Well Saturday it started to hurt a little bit. Not a lot but I noticed it. Sunday it started to hurt where I did notice it. JAB and I went to my parents� house for dinner and I showed it to my Mom. She thought it was just a rash. Well that not I had a hard time sleeping because it was bothering me. Monday when I woke up it looked swollen. I decided to go to the Urgent care place just to have it checked out. Well it being Labor Day they were all closed. I went to the Emergency and after waiting 3 hours. I won�t even get into the fact that I was called into a room and waited in there for an hour before anyone saw me. No one even came in to check on me. Anyway, trying to keep this positive. The doctor who was the most effeminate thing but kept talking to the nurse about his wife and 2 kids told me that I had Shingles. The following picture pretty much represents my back except for the obvious dark skin. It�s not gross or anything and I only have the one patch not three. THANK GOD.

Shingles is a form of chicken pox; you can only get it if you�ve had the chicken pox. Truth be told I didn�t really get it, it was explained to me that it�s just a flair up of the chicken pox. Both doctors say that it�s brought on by stress. That�s a whole other issue. So I can not be around anyone who has not had the chicken pox. The funny thing is that both the emergency room doctor and my own personal doctor is more worried about it than my airline. The emergency room doctor thought that I should be out for a couple of weeks. My own doctor agreed. My airline you ask? They said as long as it was covered it they didn�t see a problem with it. Did I mention how much I hate my job and my company? Well the pain is getting much better. But I am taking Tylenol 3 at night which is giving me the best sleep I�ve had in years. I can see how people become addicted to sleeping pills and such. I told myself that tomorrow night will be the last night I take them. Hopefully.

10:20 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie