Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

My Lifestyle choice

Sunday, May. 25, 2003
I layed over in Mexico City yesterday. It was a descent crew. One gay guy, Augusto who reminds me so much of the maid from The Bird Cage, and Kathy and Cheryl. The other girl on the crew Patty I hated because she said that I have a feminine voice, which I don�t. I�ve asked about 10 people in the past day if I did and they all said no so I�m ok with that and I will move on.

Since my airline is known for being Slam-Clickers (The "Slam-Clickers". This is a euphemism for the people who hit the layover city, and no matter how long or short the layover is, or how exciting the city, the only thing you hear the the "slam" of the door and the "click" of the dead-bolt lock. Generally these are people that have little alone time at home and go on trips to get away from the cacophony of normal life at home) I brought my lap top and just planned on doing some writing. But at the last minute we all decided to go to Teotihuacan Mexico, where the Mexican Pyramids are located. . Now it all sound great at first. Augusto, said something about climbing the pyramids but I didn�t think anything of it. I guess I thought it would be some stairs or something. I was so wrong. First thing first, the sites were amazing. It was breathtaking. To think that so many hundreds of years ago people built these pyramids. There are two on the site, the pyramid of the Sun and the Pyramid of the Moon. They are breathtaking and very very tall. You are supposed to climb to the top of the pyramids and you can see for miles and miles. The first Pyramid we started to climb was the Pyramid Of The Sun. it's teh big moutain in the background. The steps up the pyramids are very very narrow and steep. I could deal with that. What I couldn�t deal with was the steepness, the narrowness and the fact that we were climbing straight up and I�m afraid of heights. I mean I get a little nervous when I climb a ladder. Now of course the obvious question is how I can do my job. Well on the plane I�m enclosed. This thing was out in the wide open and for some reason Mexico never thought about the fact that people are climbing up this pyramid with steps about the width of 2 dollar bills put together. They are that narrow. I got a little more than half way and I really thought that I was living a nightmare. About once a month I have a nightmare where I somehow get trapped on top of a large building and I have to get down. I can never do it because I�m afraid of heights. I always wake up terrified. So now here I am about 160 feet up in the air and I�m asking myself why. The rest of the crew went the rest of the 60 feet up. I was terrified. There was a lady from France who I met who was also terrified so we just cursed ourselves for being on top of this pyramid where kids were playing and jumping. We stood against the wall holding no to nothing praying that the kids would fall. As she said, �Kids are too stupid for fear.� My crew thought that I was just out of shape, which I was but the climb actually wasn�t that bad it was just the height thing. I finally had to admit it to them and then they did the whole pity thing. Augusto said that I could take his hand as I walked down. I thought about it but decided it wouldn�t look right especially since I have a feminine voice. Ok I�m really past that.

I made it down and we walked over to the Pyramid Of The Moon which Augusto said was much shorter than the Pyramid of the Sun but steeper. Shorter is a perspective word. I looked at that pyramid with all intentions to climb up it until I saw that the climb was almost straight up. I saw people literally climbing on their hands and knees and it was straight up. Luckily for me the other girl with me who really was out of shape didn�t want to go so I stayed down there with her and watch Augusto and Kathy go up. It made me nauseas even watching them climb.

Now that the experience is over I thought that I would feel bad about not making it to the top but I really didn�t. I�m afraid of heights. That�s why I don�t do roller coasters and those water slides that are like 18000 feet in the air. It�s a valid lifestyle choice that I�ve decided to live with.

10:53 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie