Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

The Spaz

Tuesday, May. 06, 2003
Jab and I decided late last night to keep our house for 2 years. I was feeling pretty good about it until today. Actually I still feel pretty good about it. I just hate our refinance loan experience. We had a meeting with him at 8:30am. Jab and I took separate cars. He left first and I left about 10 minutes later. I of course hit traffic which made me about 5 minutes late. When we get there, Jonathan, our refi guy is going through all of the papers and documents. The only way to describe Jonathan is as a spaz. A word that I haven�t used probably since JR. high but a word that suits him. He has all of these papers on the table. I walk in and he says �Did you bring your pay stubs?� Now I admit that I did forget that he needed them but don�t you think when he confirmed that we were meeting last Friday that maybe he could have said something? Ok, maybe it�s just me. Well as we are sitting in his office I realized that even though he has had our paper work for over a week he hasn�t looked at them. He is still punching holes in papers and making files. I�m pissed at this point because A) I�m sick B) He�s wearing this 1990�s Wall Street outfit C) He should have done this on his time not ours.

I know that I can be funny about things but I�m really into being professional, especially when it comes to finances. Well we are sitting there as he crunching numbers and he starts to put things into his computer. Suddenly he says �uh-oh� Why isn�t this being accepted. I didn�t say anything as he is looking at his laptop screen. He then says. I don�t think this is going to work. To make a long story short, Jab and I don�t have the greatest scores. It�s not because we are late with payments it�s because we have credit cards from probably every major store. I just realized a couple of weeks ago that even though you don�t use them they can still be counted against you. So I started closing them. Well apparently closing them doesn�t make you credit score any better for a while. So our credit scores are low. Not bankruptcies low or anything but I guess too low to get our 5.5% interest that he promised us. My thing is this. Why didn�t he punch these numbers in before we got there. Maybe Friday of last week or Thursday of last week or Wednesday of last week or Monday of this week. The point that really got me was when he says to us, �well your scores together are kinda low�. YOU KNEW THAT WHEN YOU CALLED US LAST WEEK AND SAID THAT WE WERE APPROVED BUT THAT WE COULDN�T GET OUR 4.9% BECAUSE OF OUR SCORES!!!!!

I just sat there. I knew that he realized that I was pissed. Especially when I asked him why this didn�t come up when he ran it the first time and he said that he didn�t know and then tried to again throw the �your credit scores are low� He told us that he would try to get someone else to look at our loan but that he doesn�t think he can get us anything near the interest rate that we are looking for. Of course we found someone who said that they could do it but we decided to go with Jonathan because he said he could beat it. I was so pissed when I left his office because I wasted time that should have been spent in bed and because he made us feel like we were losers who can�t handle money, which may not be far from the truth but you don�t want to hear it from Wall street guy who is bragging about his BMW that he has to park in a special place at the gym and how because he goes there twice a day they let him park wherever he wants. I hate him.

So tomorrow he�ll probably call and say that we can�t qualify for the rate we want so we�re going have to start all over again which makes me angry because I hate dealing with banks and brokers. JAB said today that maybe we should just buy the condo we looked at and that way we�ll just have a fresh new start. I know he doesn�t mean that. He�s just saying it because he knows I�m mad and he�s trying to find a way to make me feel better, which is sweet. I�m still mad but not as mad. I guess we�ll see.

So if you look at Jonathan�s picture please tell me that you don�t think that he�s hot. I know he�s skinny and works out but it would make me feel better if you all say that he is just plain ugly and I�m much better looking. Even though you have no idea what I look. Just kidding. (KIND OF)

Disclaimer: I�m sure Homebanc and Jonathan are great business and person respectively, my views on this experience are my own.

10:39 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie