Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Watch out, I'm on a rampage!!!

Friday, Mar. 28, 2003
I had a fight with a friend today. Not really a fight but a very heated argument. It is so true when people say that you should discuss sex, religion or politics. I�m now adding War.

As I have said many times before I am against this action. But now that we are in it I feel like I have to at least support the President of my Country. Even though I think he�s an idiot. I have been watching all the news coverage going between CNN and Fox. My friend said that she was against the war and how innocent Iraqi people are going to die. I said �Of course they are it�s a war�. I didn�t mean it the way it probably sounds but I think that so many people think that War is like a Playstation 2 game. If we�re going to fight then we need to fight. F*ck the civilians. At some point when these people are dressing in civilian clothes and faking to surrender and then shooting you up then you have to have an attitude of they�re all bad. This is why I didn�t want to go to war.

Anyway my friend said that she didn�t believe the story. I asked her what story and she said that she didn�t believe that all these �civilians� are tuning out to be the army. I asked her why they (the media) would lie. She said to give an excuse to shoot innocent people. But as I said, we�re in a war. You shouldn�t gun for them but from what I understand Iraq is hiding their weapons and stuff around civilian areas. That sucks it really does. But we have to get that stuff so we can end this stupid war and get our people home. I told her how even though I am against this war and I really don�t believe the connection between 9/11 and Iraq, Sadam Hussein is a freak and his people seem even freakier. I told her about the reports of the militia or whatever it is going door to door and grabbing males and young boys to fight this war. I told her how sick that made me. It�s like if the local army base knocked on my door and told me that I had to go to Iraq tonight. I�d be a little pissed. My friend said that she didn�t believe it. I was so irritated by her. I said that it can�t all be lies. She then told me that she thought that I was falling for the Right wing propaganda. I laughed at that. But she was serious. I told her that I am no where near the right. I�m would consider myself left of center in fact but I feel like for me, it�s better for me to just say, �Ok, we�re here, now let�s kick ass so I won�t have my weekend ruined thinking about the POW�s or their families. Or thinking about what a shitty job it would be to knock on someone�s door and say �Hey you know you�re 22 year old kid who you saw two months ago, well he�s dead.� I hate thinking about the surprisingly high number of women who are over there. I heard somewhere that out of all the women who are there, 65% has children.� This whole war makes me sick and I think it was a mistake.

There�s a part of me that I think that I am tired of my country being the police of the world. The Iraqi people knew that Saddam was a Demon. Am I supposed to believe that they couldn�t get off their asses and fight them? How �bout we say: You guys get it started and we�ll back you up. How much of our tax money will go to rebuild Iraq? Is it worth it? Do I think that Sadam is evil? Yes I do. Was he a threat to his people? Yes he was. But do I really think he was a threat to us? I really don�t.

What�s also pissing me off is that by having this opinion I can be branded un-American. That really, really, really, pisses me off. I listened to Rush Limbaugh today say that people who are protesting the war were �probably� just against Bush and against capitalism. What does this have to do with capitalism? I want to call up Rush and say to him that I grew up in a military family. I had to move every two years. I know about the sacrifices that the military have to deal with because I did it. I know about not understanding why my dad had to go on TDY (temporary Tour of Duty) for a year in Thailand that he couldn�t bring his family to. I remember how my Mom had to be a single mother for a year and how we both missed him so I don�t want to hear about how because I�m against this war that I am un-American or against my troops. My Dad was one of those troops. While George Bush was here enjoying his life in the US.

Ok I just realized that I am angry and I need to calm down. I just want this to be over. I�m afraid of what this is going to do to our country in the long run.

Ok I feel a little better know that I got this off my chest.

9:20 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie