Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

My WAR STANCE

Wednesday, Mar. 05, 2003
I got up this morning ready to do some basic house keeping duties. I told myself that before I got on the computer I would make the 3 phones I needed to make, the thing was that of all the 3 calls I had to make the people were either out of the office or on another line so as far as that part of my day it was a bust.

I was able to clean my bathroom. I hate cleaning my bathroom but I love the smell of pinesol afterwards. I still I have to mop the floor but I may wait until the weekend.

As I was cleaning my bathroom I was listening to a local talk radio show host. His name is Kim Peterson in Atlanta he�s part of the conservative talk radio line up, Glenn Beck,, Rush Limbaugh, and then Kim Peterson,. The thing is that I can take Glenn Beck at times, not at lot but sometimes, but Rush Limbaugh and Kim Peterson just make me angry and usually I just turn them off but I was running around so much cleaning that I didn�t. He started talking about the war in Iraq. I�m sick of hearing about it. No that�s not true. What I�m sick of is hearing that France should be bombed after Iraq and that we should boycott French wines and German cars. But the thing that is about ready to make me go crazier than I am is the fact that if I�m against the war then I am un-American.

I don�t really want to get into the politics of this war. My beliefs I think are pretty simple. Saddam Hussein is an evil man. He has done some evil things to his people and he should be stopped; by his people. I�m sick of being the police man to the world. I also believe that a lot of this war is political. When Clinton was with Kosovo and we attacked them, he was accused of wagging the dog I heard the same people who said that we had no business in Kosovo saying now that we must take down Hussein. I am not one of those Anti-war people. I think that what we did in Afghanistan was warranted. It needed to be done. But with this war I�m just not sure. I�m pretty much leaning towards the let the UN do what they have to do.

That all being said I want to say something that is never talked about or at least I don�t hear this point of view. I can be against this war but for our troops. Regardless if you are for or against this war, the fact is that there is a huge possibility that many of our servicemen and women may be killed in this action. Mothers, Fathers, Sons, Daughters, etc. This fact is close to home for me because I was born when my father was in Vietnam and his squadron was attacked the day after I was born. There was a good chance that I could have been one of those kids who didn�t know their father. My father was a poor kid who went into the military to get off the tough streets of New York. Like most people in the military he grew to become a great man and a man who loves and has fought for his country. When he tells me how when he returned home from Vietnam, his C.O. told him not to wear his uniform on the airplane because of the anti-military sentiment it makes me angry because of what I could have lost.

The thing is that the military past and present makes it possibly for me to write that I�m pretty sure I�m against this war and I just wished that more people who are for this war understand the fact that because I�m against this war doesn�t automatically mean that I am against the American and British troops who will be in the thick of all of it. And I hate when conservative talk show host try to lump it all together.

On March 15 there is supposed to be a Rally for America,,. As advertised by the radio it�s supposed to be a time when we can show our support for American and its troop. The guy announcing it said that it wouldn�t be a pro-war rally. Of course this is the same guy who was passing out Give War a Chance t-shirts,. Once I get more information I really may go. I want the military to know that no matter what our feelings are about this thing that we know that it has nothing to do with them and that they are doing a job that most of us wouldn�t or couldn�t do. This is a hard time for all Americans and I assume for the British as well since it looks like those are going to be the major countries doing this thing.

I just hope and pray that it turns out ok and we�re all not regretting this action later on.

6:20 p.m. :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie