Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Happy Birthday to Me?, Am I a bear?

Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003
Happy Birthday to me and Thank God that there wasn't a terrorist attack today because I would hate to have to live with that on my birthday every year. I'm 35 today. It doesn't even sound right when it comes out of my mouth. I'm not one of those people who want to be 22 forever 'cause trust me. I don't. I'm such a better person now than I was when I was 22 I just wished I was still a size 30-32. Not that I'm unhappy with the way that I look, well I'm not thrilled but more on that later.

JAB gave me a great birthday, probably one of the bests that I've had with him. There was the one time we went to San Juan but everything is great when you are away from home.

JAB took the day off today which was nice. I woke up in a bad mood today, but I don't know why. I just didn't really feel well. Not really sick but just kinda icky. But once we got out it was great. Today was such a nice day. It must have been in the high 50's, low 60's which was nice because I didn't have to wear a coat.

First we stopped by memory Lane beauty shop. One of JABs oldest friends was getting her hair done. Evelyn is 85 years old but she looks 70. The funny thing about her is that she is this southern bell, she was born in 1917 and she finally came out of the closet. No she's not a Lesbian, she is attracted to Black men. I know that sounds strange but she told JAB about 5 years ago how she has always been attracted to black men and how she was in love with this black guy who worked in her building back in 1950 or something like that. When she tells the story it really makes you grateful about how America has changed. I think about the fact that 30-40 years ago JAB and I probably wouldn't be able to enjoy the day we had today.

After that JAB took me shopping. JAB is a great person but he's not very good at picking out gifts for me, because when it comes to clothes, I'm very hard to shop for. So he just said that we would go shopping for me. We went to the mall but I really couldn't find anything. Well that's not really true. I found a lot but I couldn't justify spending that much money on one item. I want to be rich, but that's a whole nother story. We ended up going to Burlington Coat Factory where JAB bought me a pair of silk pajamas that I've wanted for a while but just wouldn't buy and a pair of silk pajama bottoms. I love wearing silk pajama's to lounge around in at night. So I was very happy with them. Then we went to Linens and Things where he bought me a cordless iron, which is something else I wanted but never bought.

Later on we went to Pier One where we bought two end tables for the "entertainment room". By that point in the day we were out all day.

JAB then took me to dinner which was the highlight on the night. We went to this little hole in the wall Italian restaurant. It was GREAT. It's one of those places where you need to be a regular to get a good table, we weren't, so the table sucked, but the service was excellent and the Chocolate Moose was... I can't even describe it. As Buffy the Vampire Slayer said in last week episode, �oh my god! That might be the best thing I've ever had in my mouth". It was. If only I could cook.

As the ways things happen in my life, everything is going well until something happens to make have one of those moments when I don't know what to think. The owner of the restaurant is Italian; even though he's probably lived here forever he still has a thick accent. First I should describe that there were 3 guys sitting at the table across from me and JAB. After over hearing a part of their conversations we realized that they were Gay. The owner came over to check on us, as he did about 40 times, and says that we are always welcome. He then says he likes "bears". It was kind of loud in there so we asked him what he said. He then said it again with a huge grin on his face; he said that he and his wife loved "bears". He then grabs his fairly hefty stomach and says, I am an honorary bear. He then patted us on our shoulder and left.

Am I a bear? First of all I have to say that in my gay life, I never really heard the word bear. JAB doesn't understand how I haven't but I haven't at least not in the way that I fully understood. It was not until I started reading drewbearsf�s diary that I started putting two and two together. It's not that I have anything against Bears. I guess I just need a better understanding of what they are because I've never seen or heard of anyone black being a bear. When I read drewbearsf�s diary and look at the pictures I just assumed that it was a thing that was exclusive to White people. I know I sound weird but that's what I really thought because I have never seen any pictures or comments about black bears and usually every other gay term, i.e. twinks, queens, etc, I've seen black representation. I'm not at all upset it just made me think about how I look and how other people see me. So on my birthday I may have been outed as a bear. Is that a good thing? I must do some research.

Thanks to JAB for a great day.

10:39 p.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie