Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

AND NOW I'M SAD AND A LITTLE IRRITATED

Saturday, Jan. 04, 2003
For some reason today, pretty much out of bordom I went to the PlanetOut mesasge board. Every once in a while I just creep over there even though I really hate the site and what I feel it's about. Some how I got to the racism message board. I don't know why because I have this thing now where I try to avoid certain subjects, race, religion (especially the catholic church since I am), and abortion. To me, pretty much, people have their decision already made so why bother going over it again. But as I said I was bored.

I started following this thread between two people JACKSONBARRETT who happens to live in my town and ganymede8116 who I'm not sure where he lived. http://www.planetout.com/pno/msgbrd/list.html?board=99, The thing was that the more I read the more angry I got. ganymede8116 made all of these statement about minorities, black people in general. I really haven't been thing angry in a long time. He talks about crime and how black people are pretty much degenerates. The thing that interested me was that the voice of reason. At least in my opinion was this white guy JACKSONBARRETT who is involved in an interracial relationship.

The main thing that mad me very sad was that many times when I make appointments on the phone people seem suprised that I am black. I never got that. I know that I was raised pretty much in the Northwest where there isn't any accent to speak of but pretty much unless you were raised in the hood or the trailer park, everyone seems to speak the same. I guess I just don't really notice it. I know that where I live in the south, race plays an important part of life which is why I miss the Northwest so much. When I first came out in the Northwest I didn't feel pressures to be black or white. We were all just gay. Of course who knows how it is know that this Northwest city has become a major city know. I'm just tired of the whole race issues on both sides. I have had the pleasure of dating people of pretty much all races, if not date then at least have a good time with. I find my self attracted to all types of people. I'm not attracted to more black than white or white than asian or asian than hispanic. I can pinpoint a person of every race who I can say is extremely attractive. I just don't understand why more people don't think that way. These messages really got me down which pisses me off because I was having a good day today. And now I'm sad and a little irritated.

I remember a couple of months ago someone at work asked me if I was black first or gay first. I didn't know how to answer so I just said what I always say. I'm just a guy trying to make it through the day. That's just me.

8:18 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie