Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Random thoughts

Tuesday, Sept. 07, 2004
I worked today. I work for the next 5 days. To normal people working five days is the normal but for flight attendants it�s not really the usual. I picked up a trip today and all day I felt like it was a mistake and that my plane was going to crash. Obviously it didn�t. I go into modes where I feel like my time is up. I�ve never had a true emergency on my flight. Often I feel like I�m tempting fate. I fly too much. I have this dream of me finding the great job that I�ve been looking for and then I�ll be killed on my last flight. That can�t be normal but then again. Look at me.

Today a passenger told me that he had never seen two black male flight attendants before on one plane. I didn�t quite know how to take that. Ken the other Black male flight attendant looked at the passenger strangely and later told me that it�s sad that people still notice things like that. I guess that�s life. I wasn�t mad. The passenger just made an observation. He didn�t say it like, �there�s too many Black flight attendants on board.� This has happened to me before, actually twice. He didn�t say, �Why are there so many men working this flight.� This has also happened to me. My airline has one of the lost numbers of male flight attendants. I�m not sure where I read it but I wasn�t shocked when it came out. We also have the lowest number of Black male flight attendants. United has the most Black male flight attendants and American has the most men. Again it�s sad that there are actual studies on this.

It saddens me to say this but I�m pretty sure that Bush is going to win this election. I don�t understand American people. I also don�t understand how the Log Cabin Organization is against Affirmative Action. I have to research and see if it�s true. I hope it isn�t.

I have to visit my family in New Hampshire the end of the month. I don�t want to go. I love my family but Portsmouth seems to be the most white bread city. I don�t mean race. I just mean that everyone seems to look and dress the same. Jeans and sneakers. As I�ve discussed before I never wear sneaker unless I�m working out or doing things in the yard. Yes I do wear them if I�m wearing my track pants but I never wear them with jeans. I�m not sure if it�s because I�m Gay or because I�m a shoe snob. I�m probably the only person who gets excited about the fall and winter because I can wear my boots. I wear boots all the time. Whenever I go to Portsmouth I feel like I�m over dressed and I hate that.

I�m going to work again tomorrow. We were supposed to lay over in Nassau Bahamas but because of the weather we�re going to just drop off passengers and go to Boston. Even though our lay over was only going to be 10 hours I was looking forward to buying some Bahamas rum and having our free Bahamas mama drink that we get at the hotel.

Ok that�s all for now. Wish me luck I fighting this storm. It�s so windy outside right now.

12:41 a.m. :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie