Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

The Day Has Come

Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2003
I knew this day was coming. It�s been marked on my calendar. No matter how hard I�ve tried to push it back and I have. It�s here. There�s no avoiding it. I have to go back to work. I�ve had about 4 weeks off and it seems like I�ve only had 3 days off. I guess it�s time for me to get back into the routine but I hate it. I hate my job with such a passion there�s so much more that I want to do in life. So much more that I know I�m supposed to do but I�m not sure what the road block is. I�m not sure if it�s me or the universe or just plain not being in the right place in the right time.

Things are not as bad as they could be. I only have to work 7 days this month. That doesn�t sound like a lot. Really it�s not. There long days though. I go to the West Coast and back. Twice a month. My Dad gets mad at me when I complain about it. He thinks that I would die if I had to go to work every day 9 to 5 Monday through Friday. The thing he doesn�t get is that I want that. I want that normal life. I want to know what it feels like to have a Thursday and know that Friday is coming. I want to have work colleagues that I have a chance to get to know and love and know and hate. Instead of what I have now. I want to be depended on not just to serve but to provide ideas or to have something tangible that I can say that I�ve completed.

My next birthday I will be 36 years old and it frightens me that another year would have gone by and I�m still here and I don�t want to be. I know the basic thing that I want to do but I have no idea how to make a reality and my company believes that once a flight attendant, that�s where you will live and die. Or quit. I applied for two managerial jobs in August. Whenever I check the employment site all it says is that the listing is closed and not filled. I know that there is a snow ball�s chance in hell that I would ever get it. They would prefer to hire someone with 5 years experience or even better someone who�s not in our department at all. They have transferred some many people from the Gates and Reservations to be in flight attendant supervision but you never hear of anyone from our department crossing over. BIG SIGH!!!!

Trying to look for the positive. I�ll still be home every night for the next month. I work tomorrow ands Thursday and then I�m off until Monday. Of course Wednesday I�ll be so tired. I think part of the problem about these flights is that I�ll work a 5 hour flight. Land have a bout a 20 minute break and then fly back. I�ll be gone for about 14 hours counting the time I leave my house and the time I�ll get back home. Again I know that people have longer days. I just want to be able to take a break and walk outside for a second, or make a phone call or go to the bathroom without having people ignore the occupied sigh. ANOTHER BIG SIGH. Ok I forget I was on the positive. I got a hair cut today that I really liked and I realized that I like my goatee at that 3-4 day growth stage. Even though it�s against my companies regulations as my past the ear lobe side burns but it makes me happy. I just wish I could find a true trimmer that would trim my goatee to the length that I like.

Ok, it�s time to go to bed. So I will. I saw an interesting story on my boyfriend�s news show, Anderson Cooper, . It was about sleep deprivation and how more people are only sleeping 5-6 hours a night and that more people are depending on sleep aids to help them fall asleep. I�m one of those people. I think I take some sort of sleep aide 3-4 nights a week. I�ll miss tomorrow show but some time this week there going to be talking about nap taking and if it�s better to take a nap during the day. Before my Mom retired she would come home from work and take a nap for a couple of hours and then get up and do what she had to do around the house. I thought she was crazy because she would be wide awake and thus only get 5 hours asleep at night but it never seemed to bother her. The show said that if wake up and feel tired then you�re not getting enough sleep. If on Friday you go to bed at the same and wake up at your normal time and then go back to sleep because you�re tired and you can, that means you�re not getting enough sleep. Survey says� I�m not getting enough sleep. But the one thing that they tell you is to have a routine. There is no routine for me.

Hence I�m still up typing this as opposed to going to bed. Good night.

12:19 a.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie