Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Who's going to take care of me

Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2003
My parents are gone. Of course for some strange reason they can never leave without some sort of stress. Actually their whole trip was stressful. It started out nice. They got here Friday Night and I surprised them with my new car. My mom did what mom's do. She said how nice it was and how proud she was of me. My Dad said that I would never leave my job since I had spanking new debt. I couldn't get too mad because he was right. But as I told him, it doesn't look like I'll be leaving my job any time soon so I might as well have something to show for my hard work.

Saturday we spent all day at the subdivision that they are planning to buy into. They finally found a house that they could both agree on. It was funny to see my Dad saying that he just wanted my Mom to be happy. He really loves her even though they are such different people. After that we order Chinese food and was about to enjoy dinner when JAB came in with the mail. To make a very long story short, my Mother and her older sister is suing their oldest sister. I know it sounds like Jerry Springer and it some ways it is. If I had the injury or time I would get into it but let's just say that my Aunt deserves whatever she gets and more. Anyway since this law suit involves property here in ATL, I get copies of everything so if something needs to be done right away I can deal with it locally for my Mom and Aunt. We get this letter from my Aunt's attorney saying that she is counter suing my Mom and Aunt for 15 thousand dollars. I've always known that my Aunt wasn't a good person but I never thought that she would just blatantly lie about things and she did. Even about me. So of course the stress started. My mom had to call my aunt to tell her what was going on and pretty much the whole night was ruined. But to make matters worse, I thought it would be a good idea to kind of change the mood by having my parents check their answering machine at home. For some reason they enjoy it so much. Well we checked it and got a message saying that my other Aunt, on my Dad's side was in the hospital in NYC and they didn't know if she was going to make it. My Mom burst into tears saying that she couldn't take the stress anymore and my Dad does what he always does when he's stressed. He went right for the bottle and this time so did I. I didn't get drunk like he did but I just needed to take the stress off of me, even if it was artificially. What I really needed was JAB but while my parents are here we are just housemates.

My aunt is still in the hospital and it looks like she's going to have to go on dialysis. The weird thing is that my Dad wants to see her but he doesn't want to go back to NYC. He told me how sad it was that he didn't have a place to stay up there anymore because of his other siblings living conditions. I hated seeing my Dad so sad. He is becoming such a different man than he used to be. When I was growing up he was my hero. I know that sounds like some clich� but my Dad was tall and strong and could fix things and always had the right advice, now he just seems so old and fragile.

Getting to the fragile part. Today they are leaving. They were supposed to take the 9:50 flight but I woke up this morning and saw that they had an aircraft change so now the plane was smaller. I woke my parents up and told them that it was best for them to take the 8:15 flight. They hurried and got dressed and we went on our way. We got to the airport about an hour before departure. Since my parents fly on passes, they don't have tickets so they have to generate them at a kiosk. They're not used to using it so I help them through it and went to security. At this point they had about 45 minutes before the plane left. We go towards security and we realize that the kiosk didn't spit out my Dad's ticket, just my mom's.

I don't even want to go into the hassle of getting my Dad's ticket. I just realized that my company hates their own employees and my company is ok with that. Once I got it we had to run to the gate. Actually there's a train system. That took us out of security to the gates. My parent�s concourse was next to the last one and their gate was the last one. At my airline, If you are not at the gate 30 minutes before departure they can cancel your seat. I realized as we were taking the train that the plane would leave in about 10 minutes. Once we finally got to D concourse we had to run and that's when I realized that parents are old. My Dad tried to keep up with me but he really couldn't in fact he stumbled once. My mom is about 5-1 and is over weight, and has two bad knees. She tried as hard as she could.

My parents gate was D35 and at about D30 my mom said that she couldn't make it. I turned around to see that she was sweating and breathing hard. It scared me to death. I took her hand and told her to sit down but she said that she would try. We then heard the gate agent calling my parent's name saying last call. They made it. We hugged quickly and they got on the plane and I walked away to go back to the car. But I was a nervous wreck. I just knew that my parents would make it to the end of the Jetway and then drop dead of a heart attach. I really had that in my head. I turned back around and flashed my airline id and begged the agent to let me go and check on them. He was very nice and told me to go ahead. They got first class and they were sitting down when I got to them. They just looked so tired and worn out. I hugged them again and I got my mom some aspirin and then got off the plane, walked to a quit part of the concourse and cried like a baby. I blamed myself for not being wealthy enough to just buy them tickets, or why didn�t I get up 20 minutes earlier. Of course I realized that I was being foolish but It hit me that one day, possible one day soon, I would be by myself. Not really because I have JAB but I'm an only child and once my parents are gone, that's it. Even though I am 35 years old, I just wonder who's going to take care of me once they're gone?

10:26 p.m. :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie