Here we go
...The hardest thing in this world is to live in it. BtVS

Just a Sunday

Sunday, May. 11, 2003
Yesterday while JAB was at work I went to run some errands, take my work shirts to the cleaners, buy some milk and sugar free cookie, etc. Anyway, near the grocery store they are building these new townhouses. I know that JAB and I had decided to stay here for at least 2 more years but I still look. These townhouses look nice and they are they right size and they are actually in our price range. The thing is that I need to see the floor plans because I don�t want to get something that is a lot smaller than what we have.

I drove JAB to the site to look at them and of course he picked out every flaw, which is so normal now that it doesn�t even bother me anymore. I asked him what he thought and he said that he thought it was nice and he thought that our cat would be fairly safe in the area. He then said that he just didn�t want to move again. I totally understand what he�s saying. We�ve moved every 2 years since we�ve known each other. Actually it�s been every year until we moved in together and then it went to the 2 year cycle. He said he just wants to rest and that if we move there then we have to stay there for 10 years. 10 years is such a long time for me. In my mind I guess I just want to move into something nicer and then move into something nicer again. I don�t hate this house. It�s just old and it needs so much. Stuff that we can�t afford and this townhouse seems to have everything we need. I�m going to call the realtor and ask for some floor plans along with the sizes of the bedrooms. I�m not just moving for the sake of moving. I want to move into something nicer and more modern. I want hard wood floors and a modern bathroom that doesn�t have 1970 tiles. I want a modern kitchen and modern fixtures. But JAB just wants to rest. He is very depressed about his financial situation but there�s nothing much I can say about it. He says that if we didn�t eat out anymore and put that money away then we could both be out of debt in a year. I know he�s right but we have no social life. The only thing we do that is somewhat fun is go out to eat so if we don�t do that what would be left?

JAB and I are going to visit my parents in the Northwest on Thursday. I�m sorta excited to show him where I grew up but then I�m a little nervous because it�s just weird to have him in my parents� world. Their world is my world. When I go home I don�t have to do anything. I can just lay in the family room and watch TV all day if I wanted. JAB and I are going to have to work to get my parents ready for their move. It�s getting closer and closer. They will be leaving in about 40 days. I�m so excited but again I�m scared.

I got my leave of absence for June. Again I�m excited but also scared because I won�t have a paycheck for a month. I plan to life off my savings and I know that my parents will help me a little. I�m just looking forward for a month without having to deal with an airline and its issues. I will just be at my parent�s new house getting it ready for their arrival. There�s a lot that I�m going to have to do but I figure that it will be done in the first two weeks and then I will have a week to myself and then I�ll have to deal with them for a week.

I was listening to the radio today and it was talking about how the word �like� is in everyone�s vocabulary and how it�s irritating. I use that word way to much in normal speak. I know it�s because of growing up on the west coast where we were very influenced by California. I just don�t know how it sounds that a 35 year old black male uses the term �like� so much. The other day this woman cleaning the plane asked where I was from. That�s such a weird question because my father was in the military so we moved every 2 years, (which may explain my current desire to move again) so I can�t say that I grew up really anywhere except for the Northwest. I spent from age 12 to 22 there so that�s where I say I�m from. Anyway she said to me that I talked like Carlton from The Fresh Prince of Bel Aire. I hadn�t heard that in a long time but I had the same reaction that I usually get. It pisses me off. I don�t know why. She didn�t mean anything by it. Most people don�t but it�s just something that I grew up with. I went to a lot of private schools and because I lived in places that didn�t have a huge black population I kinda missed out on the whole Ebonics thing. None of my black friends from high school or college did it either. My Dad wouldn�t allow me to use a lot of slang growing up. I think that he was so afraid that I might do what he did as opposed to doing what he said that he really pushed it on me. Plus I double majored in English and Communications so my I went through this stage in college where I was using such huge words and mixing it in with my �likes� that people in my fraternity used to call me Oreo which really pissed me off too. I don�t understand why people can accept White people having different layers. You never see Julia Roberts compared to Anna Nicole Smith but I since I don�t listen to rap and I don�t talk like a rapper then I�m an Oreo. I don�t get it.

JAB is taking a nap and he told me to wake up at 6:30 which I did and then he told me to wake him up at 7 which I just did and now he�s telling me 7:30 so I think I�ll just wake him up at 8 and just make sure that he gets up. He had a long day today so I understand that he�s tired.

I hope everyone had a great Mother�s Day.

7:23 p.m. :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next



My Weather
The WeatherPixie